The consistent history of Tartu Arhitektuuribüroo (Tartu Architectural Office) dates back to 1945 when the Town Architect Arnold Matteus established an architectural office under Tartu Town Government, with the purpose of devising designs and plans for buildings and structures within the town. In 1997 the Architectural Office of Tartu was reorganized as a private limited company and the office was privatized in 1998 by OÜ Minnoli. Tartu Arhitektuuribüroo was registered as a trademark in 2009. Since 01.09.2009, the right of use of the trademark Tartu Arhitektuuribüroo is owned by Minnoli OÜ.

Long-term professional experience has provided our office with a rich knowledge base in various domains related to construction. The main fields of activity have been architectural design, city planning, building and landscape designs, devising of construction documentation, architectural and constructional consulting, construction supervision and organizing competitions for finding constructors, incl. budgetary public procurements. The company currently holds the following activity licences:

The high-quality performance is made possible by state-of-the-art capacities of designing and drawing software and qualified staff.

Tartu Arhitektuuribüroo was one of the first architectural offices in Estonia that acquired the official user licence for ArchiCAD as early as in 1995. The currently used version is ArchiCAD 23.0. Additionally, designing softwares AutoCAD LT, AutoCAD 2009 Architectural Desktop and Revit Structure are used. Our architects perform visualizations with Lumion 10 and architect-planners use Civil 3D.

The chief architect is Roman Smuškin, known as the designer of several major objects in Tartu. Daily activities in the office are managed by Urmas Makrjakov who has an extensive experience in project management and has worked for the company already since the 1990s.